Why I’m ‘the future of journalism’

When the fine folks over at Publish2 announced their “I Am the Future of Journalism” contest earlier this month, I was reminded of some terrific advice my career coach gave me not long ago as I was shaping my résumé: “We’re going to get that humility training out of you.”

So I’ve tried to keep that in mind as I prepared my entry for the contest, which requires entrants to explain themselves a lot more than I’ve ever been comfortable doing. This isn’t something I’ve taken to naturally, much less saying all this on a video! But here’s my first stab at truly becoming the multimedia journalist that all of us will need to be.

Yes, the ultimate prize is a job, but the process also helped me sharpen my thoughts about why I’m continuing along this path called journalism. And why it there’s no other choice but to plunge ahead fearlessly.

This is my little effort to explain why, so please have a look (it’s only 1 minute, 20 seconds long), then go over to my entry page on Publish2 to read more. And rate it if you please.

Vodpod videos no longer available.
more about “I am the future of journalism“, posted with vodpod
2 thoughts on “Why I’m ‘the future of journalism’

Leave a Reply

