Outside the newsroom, but still doing the news?

Light posting here on Monday and Tuesday as I attend a two-day career transition workshop, one of the components of my buyout package. After nearly a couple of decades I finally give the resume a 2.0-style overhaul, take the Myers-Briggs personality test (watch out, folks!) and learn how to conduct a professional job search in the Web age.

Given the current economic jitters (full panic mode?), how great is my timing for all this? Fellow ex-colleagues who’ve attended these sessions said they were sensational. I do think it’s a good idea for mid-career professionals across the board to assess where they are with skills and objectives, so I am looking forward to seeing how I might proceed.

But I’m also thinking this job search-and-marketing service assumes that most of us will remain in the metro Atlanta area and likely will enter non-journalism careers. And in a corporate environment. While this approach makes practical sense, I’m still struggling with the idea that a full-time working life doing something other than the news may become my new reality.

And that’s a possibility I really, really hate to confront. But here it is, staring me in the face.

Leave a Reply

